Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

April 22, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday April 22, 2021 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Jennifer Zahradnik, At Large, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Loras Schulte, Norway, Tracy Seeman, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Doug Luzbatek, HLW, Nancy Jensen, County, Denise Schwab, County, Doug Rinderknecht, Newhall, Bryce Brecht, County, and Jared Vogeler, Van Horne. On the phone were Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg and Jennifer Fencl, ECICOG.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Kearns to approve the March 18, 2021 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Schwab to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included information about hauling water, water sampling, equipment service, and site repair. Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Seeman to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report was distributed prior to the meeting to commission members. Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Jensen to accept the ECICOG Report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Schwab to approve Resolution 2021-04-01 Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Brecht to approve Resolution 2021-04-02 Approval of Transfer of Funds Between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2021-04-03 Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Brecht to accept the Financial Assurance Report from HLW. All Ayes.

Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Kearns to approve the Conceptual Design agreement with HLW. All Ayes.

Discussion was held on asphalting the entrance into the landfill.

Motion made by Brecht, seconded by Schwab to approve the Probe Agreement. All Ayes.

Dicussion was held about testing results and the DNR.

Motion to adjourn made by Seeman, seconded by Brecht. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:25 PM.

Chairperson		